free trial

My Privacy Cleaner Pro FAQs

How do I register My Privacy Cleaner Pro?

1. Click on the Options Tab

3. If you already have a license key, enter your name (or company name) and then the license key and click the Register button.
4. If you don't have a license key, visit the My Privacy Cleaner Pro Product Page to purchase the product.

What operating systems does it run on?

My Privacy Cleaner Pro runs on Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, Windows Vista 32-bit, Windows Vista 64-bit, Windows XP 64-bit, Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 2008 Server, Windows 2008 Server 64-bit, Windows 2003 Server 64-bit, Windows 7 32-bit

What does My Privacy Cleaner Pro do?

My Privacy Cleaner Pro protects your privacy by finding and deleting all traces of your online and offline activities from your computer.

My Privacy Cleaner Pro finds and removes the history of your recent web activity including recently visited websites and any downloaded files or photos. Cookies that have been automatically downloaded will be tracked and removed along with information about recently opened documents and any document searches. Important documents can be shredded to make sure they are 100% unrecoverable.

What areas of my computer are covered during the Smart Privacy Scan?

My Privacy Cleaner Pro scans the following areas for privacy risks:

Windows - Information stored by the windows operating system including the names of recently accessed files, temporary files, contents of your recycle bin, document searches and any other windows information that could contain privacy risks.

Internet - Information collected on your computer while you surf the Internet including search histories, cookies, recently viewed pages, music, video and photos.

Chat History - Logs of any conversations you have had in AOL, Yahoo or MSN

Software - Items from the software programs on your computer including lists of recently viewed Microsoft Word documents, temp files and log files.

Can I customize the privacy scan to exclude my internet chats?

Yes, you can easily choose to exclude certain areas or files from the privacy scan.

To exclude entire categories simply un-check the box next to any categories you do not wish to have included and then click Scan.

What if I want to exclude just a certain file or maybe a cookie containing log-in credentials?

  1. Click on the Options Tab
  2. Check the box next to Exclude Selected Items from Future Scans (this box is pre-checked by default)
  3. Click on Add File button and selected the file or files you wish to exclude.
  4. Click the Save Settings button

    Now whenever you run a scan the selected files will be excluded. You can always come back and edit or modify your exclusion list as your needs change.

Can I recover files that I've shredded?

The whole idea of shredding a file is to make it unrecoverable. We don't recommend you shred anything unless you are 100% certain you will not need it again.

We offer 3 levels of shredding:

Level 1 - 1 overpass
Data is overwritten once and can only be recovered with the use of very sophisticated restoration technology.

Level 2 - 5 overpasses
Data is overwritten 5 times. The US Department of Defense standard is 3 passes for permanent erasure of digital information so this is two passes more than they require and is very secure.

Level 3 - 35 overpasses
Data is overwritten 35 times. This will take a long time to run depending on the number of files selected and should only be used in extreme cases.

Can I set privacy scans to run automatically?

Yes, in fact we recommend it. Take advantage of this feature to run automatic scans at convenient times and keep your PC clean and free of privacy risks.

Set up automatic scans

1. Click on the Schedule Tab
2. Choose one of two options
- run scan automatically at start-up
- select a convenient time and frequency
3. Click Save Settings

 

Back to top.

 

 

Questions?

If you can't find the answer you are looking for, please contact us here.